Posted by: saltlaketorome | October 26, 2011

Will I make a good Catholic?

This morning, I received a tip on a decent job and had the interview. The job is in Saudi Arabia and I have not heard back yet, but this got me wondering. Will I make a good Catholic? ~If I get this job and accept it, I would have to move and it probably would be a couple of years before I got back into a place where I felt comfortable converting to Catholicism.  At this moment, I feel this is the time to convert. (Aside from a few fears). ~ I cannot help but wonder if I am willing to consider a job that would delay my path the Catholic Church would I be a good Catholic after all?

Most of my religious experiences growing up were through the Mormon Church. I spent many nights at Young Women’s. I went to girls’ camp (completed 3 years). I even sucked up a few dances. I did the Seminary classes in High School. Yes, I did attend a few Catholic things, but I was never really allowed to investigate. Although I have always been highly curious I never jumped in with both feet. My Mum used to tell me when it comes to life’s big experiences, “everybody gets there”. I think I am there, or the closest I have ever been. I never really got into Relief Society. All it seemed to me was how to be a good wife and mother. Also, the older I got and the fact that I remained single made it highly uncomfortable.

From what I see when I watch The Daily Mass, the actual Mass service verses sacrament meeting has many differences. For example, Jesus is mentioned multiple times in a Catholic meeting, whereas you hear a lot about how to be a good Mormon in the Mormon Church. I’ve learned more about the stories in the Gospels in the two months I’ve been studying Catholicism than I did in a years of being Mormon. And when we studied the Bible in the Mormon Church, it was compared to the “truths” in the Book of Mormon more often than not. I never really got into Relief Society. All it seemed to me was how to be a good wife and mother. Also, the older I got and the fact that I remained single made it highly uncomfortable.

There’s the day-to-day stuff. In the Homily, the preacher talks about how to draw closer to Christ by prayer, by following Christ’s examples in his life, and by following the examples of the saints who have walked this path before us. But the Mormon Church CONSTANTLY talks about ways to be a “good Mormon” You have to pray, morning, night, and with your family. Tithing 10% of your gross salary is required, of course, and you will be asked about this before being given a Temple Recommend.(a practice, I have always disagreed with. Why does 10% have to go to the church? There are so many other places it would benefit.) Scripture study is a must It is recommended that you read the Book of Mormon at least once each year. You have to attend church each week (the full 3 hour block), and accept any callings given to you by the church and fulfill them to the best of your responsibility. Oh, and don’t forget to have your 72-hour kit. And you should journal every day. Let us not forget the Word of Wisdom. No Coffee, cigarettes or alcohol. Genealogy is very important so that temple work can be done for your ancestors. And only listen to uplifting music and watch uplifting movies, and be a good housewife and a good priesthood holder and … it goes on forever. It’s so HARD to be a good Mormon.

From what I can gather with the Catholic Church, you get out of it what you put into it. If all you do, is go to Mass each week, you will get benefit out of it, but not as much benefit as if you pray every day. There are so many ways to worship Christ, adore him and draw closer to him in the Catholic Church. I never ever saw these things in the Mormon Church. Even in the Temple the talk about Jesus is kept to a minimum, and there was only one prayer in the entire ceremony. There is more prayer in the first part of Mass (Liturgy of the Word) than there is in a typical Mormon endowment ceremony. And the Catholic Church encourages a daily examination of conscience and has the wonderful blessing of the Sacrament­ of Reconciliation. I was forever afraid that I was going to go to the Terrestrial Kingdom because I forgot to repent for a cup of coffee. Learning how to do this daily examination of conscience has been a great blessing to me.

I guess I am going to stop rambling on. I have some thinking to do.


Responses

  1. Bless your heart another struggle. The thought came to my mind when reading this. The Jewish nation waited forty-years before they received their promise land.

    Will you be a good Catholic? Sounds to me you already are. (Notice I did not say, “It sounds to me, it is “like” you already are.)

    This is where you are going to have to have your faith. If this job comes into place talk to your RCIA teacher and your Priest for guidance. Also about your Confirmation. Maybe they can do something online with you, regarding RCIA teachings. They will have the answers for you. If something happens they do not, then go to your Bishop.

    I am seeing a “tone” change in you, which I like. You are at the place I was when I begin to see Her “Beauty.”

    Hang in there, I promise you God will lead you through and in everything. I promise you I will walk it with you. God Bless, SR

  2. It is so interesting to read your blog. I’m born and raised Catholic, went to an all girls Catholic school, and I’m a convert to the LDS church. The only one in my very Catholic family.

    I am surprised, to read that the LDS church hates Catholics. I had a lot of LDS friends prior to my conversion, and they were fine with me being Catholic. None were ever pushy with getting me converted (it took like 2years). I had a lengthy discussion with missionaries about it prior to conversion, and they said that the “abominable church” are places of gathering that take you away from God, like how people gather in bars, etc. and grind to provocative music, and people promoting those sorts of behavior to be ok. During my baptism, my friend who gave the talk mentioned how I should take what has helped me be a good person from being Catholic to being a good Mormon. Infact, a lot of my friends who are return missionaries still encourage me to go to Catholic mass with my family- as that helps with building families. I don’t know, but yeah, I’ve never gotten that vibe from any LDS members.

    It is very interesting to me how we feel very different about the exact same things. Except maybe, Relief Society… The cry fest is not something I am fond of… Still trying to find a way to be able to maybe avoid it.

    I am glad that you have found what’s right for you. 🙂

    Cheers!


Leave a comment

Categories